N.C. wildlife license fee changes
go into effect Aug. 1
The N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission
announced this week several changes to its
hunting, inland fishing and trapping
licenses, which will go into effect Friday,
Increased fees for certain
short-term, annual and lifetime licenses.
The duration of a short-term hunting license
also will increase from six to 10 days,
making it consistent with short-term fishing
requirements for senior licenses, which
raise the age to 70 for residents who were
born after Aug. 1, 1953. The age requirement
remains 65 for residents born on or before
Aug. 1, 1953.
Elimination of county licenses, which
include Resident County Hunting, Resident
County Trapping, and Resident County Inland
reciprocal license fees for Georgia, South
Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.
Non-resident, short-term (10-day) hunting
license fees will cost $60 for Georgia
residents, $75 for South Carolina residents,
$70 for Tennessee residents, and $110 for
Also new this year is the Bear Management
E-stamp, which is a mandatory $10 e-stamp
for bear hunters. Along with the e-stamp,
resident bear hunters must possess a valid
hunting license with big game privileges.
Non-resident bear hunters must possess a
valid hunting license, a big game privilege
license and a non-resident bear hunting
license, in addition to the bear management
e-stamp. Lifetime license holders who
purchased their lifetime sportsman or
hunting license before July 1, 2014 do not
have to purchase the $10 bear e-stamp, but
still have to obtain the bear e-stamp, at no
cost to them, to hunt bear.
While the prices have increased for many
hunting, fishing and trapping licenses, the
majority increased by less than $10 and
there is no increase for resident lifetime
licenses. This year is the first time since
1987 that the Commission has raised license
"The fee increase
is part of a comprehensive plan passed by
the legislature to move the Wildlife
Commission toward fee-based self-sufficiency
while reducing reliance on general fund tax
appropriations," said Commission Budget
Director Tommy Clark.
purchase a license, call the Commission at
1-888-248-6834, go to
or visit a local wildlife service agent.
For more information on
hunting, fishing and trapping licenses in
North Carolina and a complete list of all
2014-15 license fee and regulatory changes,
download the Commission's 2014-2015 North
Carolina Inland Fishing, Hunting and
Trapping Regulations Digest.